Quitting the Internet for Three Months

Posted: October 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m tired of it. I’m tired of watching hours of useless YouTube videos late into the night. I’m done with wasting absurd amounts of time on Facebook and blogs, only to crash in bed too exhausted to do anything but think about how much I could be accomplishing if I was actually devoted to something. I’m sick of wondering why my relationship with God is so distant and dull, when in reality it’s painfully obvious. I’m worn out by imagining what it would be like to really live for Christ and develop my gifts, and then watching the clock race and revolve as those gifts gather dust.

This isn’t how it’s supposed to be. Life isn’t supposed to be so monotonous and draining. It’s not supposed to be so thoughtless and empty. I don’t want to be the guy who buried his talent in the ground.

So I’m quitting Facebook, YouTube, blogs, and any other internet entertainment for the next three months in faith that God will restore joy to my heart as I seek him. Any internet use that is not related to school or church will be postponed until at least January 11th. If you think of it, please pray for me that I will experience God’s peace vividly over these next few months, and for strength to overcome temptation.

Leave a Reply

