Vanity of Vanities

Posted: February 8, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything but prose. And I don’t normally like to write anything that seems depressing. But I think it’s only part of the Christian experience to face drudgery and melancholy at times in order to fight for the joys and happiness that await.

Numb;
I yearn to feel some sense of excitement.
Life passes like a businessman on the sidewalk
Brushing others’ concerns aside
Why? Why the mundane?
Every day feels frivolous.
Education, obligations, entertainment, all a detestation
I go to school, I come home
to work, then home
Tick, tock, tick, tock
Time is butter churned; laborious and uneventful
Producing only thick nothingness, a fat void.
Friendships come, friendships go
The relational pendulum swinging to and fro
Vanity of vanities, a vapor in the wind.
Promises of a successful career with much labor
To what avail?
To drudge through the mire of materialism,
Drowning in affluence and choking on excess?
To follow in the footsteps of millions of lost souls
chasing the apparition of attainment?
What can be done that has not been done?
Even if I dominate in some field of study,
create some magnum opus or embody fame,
Will I have reached any platform untouched by predecessors?
Or only become another grain of sand washed to the shore of disillusionment?
So even in my routine, my moderate life
I tread in the same shallow waters as earthly kings and princes
in comparison to true glory, eternal glory.
But in His image, I also cannot content myself with dull mediocrity.
With wasted gifting and a shallow life.
I will content myself with temporal boredom
if for the recompense of happy, quiet servitude.
“Whom have I in heaven but you?
And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart
and my portion forever.”

Comments
  1. Laurie says:

    What delicious and tasty metaphors and similes.
    That was beautifully expressed and not at all depressing.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

