Docker’s Man-ifesto

Posted: December 15, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I recently came across this campaign of Docker’s called the “Man-ifesto.” Curious to hear what you think.

Docker’s Man-ifesto

P.S. If you’ve read my previous posts on masculinity/femininity, you’ve probably already guessed that I’m excited to see this. It does strike me as odd that Levi Strauss is running this, being a company that rather pro-actively supports homosexual causes (even pulling back it’s funding for the Boy’s Scouts, a man-making program of sorts, because of it’s stance against homosexuality). Aside from this curiosity, though, I’m quite pleased to see this kind of campaign getting publicity.

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    Quite an interesting ad campaign. I must say, as a woman, it’s nice to see someone taking a stand (even if my feminist side says it’s a little chauvinistic to call a salad bar “unmanly”).

  2. Mom says:

    Sure does seem ironic that this is an LS ad. I have refused to support them for years, knowing their stance differs from ours. But I am willing to revisit their company’s mission statement to see if they’ve change. Sometimes new owners actually do bring about real change.

    I’m wilth Michelle. I don’t think there’s anything unmanly about salad bars.
    Sushi bars, maybe.

  3. Ms_Fu says:

    I love this ad campaign and I hope that other companies that make products for men follow through, feminism be darned!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Feminism is a mistaken movement…in their search for “equality”, women lose the very all-knowing instinct and power that makes them, well, women. Why turn our backs on the things that give us strength, dignity and attractiveness? And the same goes for men. Also, what I really like about this is that it stresses the man’s place as a good thing- a beneficial thing. It’s not about world domination or proving a point. It’s about responsibility. Frankly, I’m impressed.

Leave a Reply

