Pups at Heart

Posted: October 18, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

A few days out of the week, I get to walk a dog named Roscoe. Roscoe’s the epitome of energy and fun. His excitement for life, enthusiasm for sightseeing, and love for people is contagious. I look forward to walking Roscoe after class or during a stressful week because of his infectious personality.

I’ve learned some life lessons from Roscoe, believe it or not. I was thinking the other day when I was circling the neighborhood with him about how much I resemble this dog in my relationship with God. Roscoe has a curiosity that draws him like a magnet to any object of interest. Squirrel, bird, people, bug: you name it, he’s after it. His eyes dart to and fro, dancing with childlike wonder at all the treasures to behold and pounce upon. However, if it weren’t for me guiding him, keeping him on a short leash, and tugging on it as we walk, Roscoe would be in serious danger. You see, not everything Roscoe sees is worthy of his undivided attention. A leap toward a meandering rodent could spell instant death if a car were driving by.

I don’t know if you have ever seen the Disney movie Homeword Bound, but it is one of my favorite childhood films. In their quest toward home, the canine and feline trio encounter many unforeseen obstacles, some avoidable, some not so much. At one point, Chance (one of the dogs) sticks his head into a log trying to catch an animal he sees inside. Instead of a tasty snack, he finds a mouthful of porcupine needles.

In much the same way as Roscoe and Chance, I’ve found that so often my heart wanders and gets distracted by the things of this world that don’t matter. Ooh, Facebook! Look, cool music! A cute girl, go for a relationship! More money! Laziness sounds good! The list goes on and on.

In this case, however, these things are not simply neutral territory. Unlike squirrels and bugs, the enemy intentionally uses objects and situations in my life to draw me away from my Owner. You see, the enemy has already set up the car and the pocupine needles. He only wishes God would let go of my leash for just one second. Thank God for short leashes, denied pleasures, and dashed expectations, for only he knows the ultimate good in store.

“O to grace how great a debtor
daily I’m constrained to be!
Let thy goodness, like a fetter,
bind my wandering heart to thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
prone to leave the God I love;
here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
seal it for thy courts above.”
-Come Thou Fount

Comments
  1. Zoanna says:

    I love your life lessons, Stephen–and hooray for short leashes.

Leave a Reply

