Money, Money, Money, pt. 2

Posted: May 12, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

In addition to challenging me to embrace new perspectives, Randy Alcorn’s book inspired me to take my willingness to give and “kick it up a notch”, as Emeril would say. I thought what I was giving before was plenty, but I feel like God is calling me to give more generously out of the wealth he’s blessed me with. I don’t want to hoard here on earth what can’t go with me when I die. In the words of Jim Elliot, “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep in order to gain what he cannot lose.” Yet, it’s tempting to think that giving too much can be foolishness because, in our culture, we should save as much as we can for the future. Alcorn says “We pride ourselves on our ‘financial independence,’ but where would we be without God, from whom our every breath is a gift? The very expression ‘financial independence’ may be blasphemy” (italics mine). I’m excited to give more, not out of duty but out of gratitude for God’s blessings, out of a hope for seeing the gospel proclaimed, and out of a desire to see the needy helped.

When Hudson Taylor was overseeing and working in a hospital in Inland China, a worker commented that they were down to their last bag of rice. “Then, the Lord’s time for helping us must be close at hand,” was his reply. Sure enough, before that bag of rice ran out, the hospital received a check for fifty pounds from a man who had, not knowing the circumstances they were in, felt God place it on his heart to give to them. In his letter, he wrote that he had gained an inheritance from his father and wanted to give more, and asked if the hospital would be able to use more money. This is the God we serve! If he can provide for them in their need, can he not do the same for us if we give generously?

As some of your may know, my sister was in an accident in the Jeep I usually drive last week. A woman pulled out on her on Wheel Road and did some nice damage, totaling the Jeep. By God’s protective grace, Sarah is ok. Unfortunately, the way it looks now, our claim is going to be denied because a witness claimed Sarah was partially at fault. Long story short, nothing is covered right now because we have no collision insurance on the Jeep. A couple of months ago, I probably would have been angered by the situation. I love the Jeep. I enjoy driving it. As my family can testify, I am a little picky about keeping it clean and and like to wash and armor-all it. A massive dent in the side would be frustrating and downright angering. However, God has been changing my heart over these past couple of months, and has used this accident to show me how temporal possessions are. It honestly surprised me that my response is “it’s just a car,” because of the value I had placed on it. God is teaching me to value eternal rewards over material possessions, and I guess God has chosen that the best way to teach me that is by letting my most valued possession be smashed. For now, it still drives just fine, but some day that Jeep will be a pile of rusted metal in a junkyard. The things I do on earth for God and the resources I give to him are the only things that will matter millions of years from now.

Quotes from Randy Alcorn to come…

Leave a Reply

