More Thoughts on College

Posted: February 23, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Hopefully this will be a short post.

I was just pondering today why college life is so sanctifying. Here was one thought:

Transitioning from the CDS (a Christian high school) to college is a transition from a place where godliness is respected to a place where it is denounced (or worse, shrugged off). In college, your professors and most of your peers don’t care what you’ve been reading in your Bible lately or how your prayer life has been. Therefore, that part of me that wants to be admired for godliness is is being challenged by the Holy Spirit, who wants me to glorify God for His sake alone. It can be downright painful, and I think this is perhaps the downfall of many promising individuals. We’ve all seen it before. A teenager who is renowned for their devotion to God. They participate excitedly in church and join in discussions at small groups with vivid insights. They arrive early at every event and stay late to serve. They’re so godly. Then they hit college. Before you know it, they become the person people about whom people ask, “Hey, what ever happened to Bobby/Jill/Fill-in-the-blank.” Unfortunately, it’s so easy to fall in love with being admired among the church community, and without even realizing it, start to do the Christian things for esteem. Base your pursuit of godliness on others, and then suddenly go to a place where nobody values true godliness, and watch your faith crumble beneath you. I’m preaching to myself, because I know I’m so prone to wander in that direction. I don’t want to be “Bobby.”

I’ll leave it there. That’s my random thought of the day.

Father, give me a love for you that is independent of man’s approval. Give me a faith that continues even if reputation fails. Man’s approval is conditioned on my performance, while your approval is based on Christ’s. Please grant me wisdom to always remember which is reliable and sustaining. I want to please you in all things no matter who sees. Amen.

“Take all my cravings for vain recognition
Fleshly indulgence and worldly ambition
I want so much Lord to make You the focus
To serve You in secret and never be noticed

…Search me and know me I want to bring to You
A life that is holy and sanctified through You”
-Surrender All (Rich Dalmas)

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    I’m sure you really don’t want to be Jill, either.

    As disheartened as you may feel, try to look at it from a positive, light, too: this is an opportunity to define who you are as a person, and to really assert yourself in your faith.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lol, that is true.

    Absolutely, there’s a huge positive light to it. There’s such a huge opportunity to share my faith. Also, I could launch into a whole post about the importance and blessing of the church in building each other up and encouraging each other to persevere. I thought I’d spare everyone another huge post this time :). Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. Laurie Lynn says:

    Yes.
    Those are some honest thoughts to an honest and universal(?) struggle whether in college or WHERE EVER it seems to me.
    It is my experience that God uses our pride to sanctify us more! And if (or when) we fall into being “proud of not being proud”, we are lovingly humbled by God which is always a good thing!
    Press on and cling to Him!

Leave a Reply

