Double Pneumonia

Posted: December 5, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Last night, I was chatting online with a friend when she told me she had double pneumonia. I brilliantly asked if that was a made-up term for really bad pneumonia. Could you add “double” to any disease/sickness and add the same effect (e.g. “Billy, I hate to tell you this, but…you’re double morbidly obese”)? Believe it or not, I didn’t ask this to be clever; I really had no clue that double pneumonia meant pneumonia in both lungs (who knew? I mean, besides just about everyone except me). I really do have more than enough blond moments for one person.

Today, I started thinking about that conversation again. It was a light-hearted, fun, humerous, enjoyable conversation with an unbelieving friend. While thinking about it, God gave me a revelation. It came in the form of a somewhat abstract connection using a play on the words “double pneumonia.” Pneumonia contains the root word Pneuma, which is a Greek transliteration used in the Bible for “air in motion, breath, wind” However, it also takes on the meaning of spirit, and is often used in the New Testament when referring to the Holy Spirit.

So when I thought of this, her saying she had “double pneumonia” took on an interesting meaning, as in a sense, this double pneumonia could be thought of as both a physical inflammation of the lungs and in the spiritual sense, a missing (sick) relationship with the God who is the Breath of eternal life.

For me, this was a wake up call to value my time in conversation with unbelievers. I want to be more courageous about sharing my faith with my non-Christian friends, not using the excuse of “I don’t want to shove it down their throats” as an excuse to neglect my calling to share the gospel altogether. I hate to see any friends develop pneumonia or any other physical sickness, but it pains me so much more deeply to think of them living without a relationship with Jesus Christ through the power of the Pneuma, the Holy Spirit.

“Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken-hearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see”
-Brandon Heath, “Give Me Your Eyes”

Comments
  1. zoanna says:

    That’s really insightful. I probably should’ve taught you guys more science in homeschool. But honestly, I’ve always thought pneumonia was always in both lungs anyway, so “double pneumonia” would’ve sounded redundant and I would’ve said, “That’s bad, BAD pneumonia!”

Leave a Reply

