Quoting Myself

Posted: November 18, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not sure why I was thinking about this today, but my mind wandered to a memory of a time several years back. I was in early high school, probably about 13 years old or so, and had just finished writing the last line of my paper. Before turning it in to my mom for grading, I remember asking her how to quote myself. I wasn’t saying this to be humorous or clever, but I just thought that my last line was superb. In all the books I’d read, when a line was noteworthy or extraordinary, it always seemed to be in quotes, and so it made sense that my little magnum opus deserved to be emphasized.

As silly and absurdly proud as it seems now, I’ve found I still tend to quote myself subconsciously. Jerry Bridges, in his book The Discipline of Grace, describes our daily thought-process as an ongoing conversation with ourselves. The person I converse with most is me. The person I talk to most has the most influence on me…and that person is me.

So in a strange way, every time I reason, every time I justify sin, give someone advice, or write something on a blog, I am quoting myself (unless I specifically quote somebody else). When I consider this, it causes me to think about the significance of quoting Scripture to myself regularly. If I am going to be speaking to myself 90% (or more) of the day, what better way to speak than to quote someone whose thoughts and ideas are infinitely more important and worthwhile? Memorizing another person’s quotes is one of the best ways to make their thoughts your own.

“Why not quote God more instead of ridiculously quoting myself?” -Steve Zubrowski, author of some blog.

Isaiah 55:8,9
For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    You know, I think there’s a name for that kind of condition…

  2. Steve says:

    Yeah, that’s what I used to think until the voices told me I was ok.

  3. Laurie says:

    Good word!
    Too often I’m “in conversation” with myself instead of in God’s word!
    How my thoughts (and quotes) pale in comparison to His!
    Isaiah 55:8,9
    For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
    For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.

    Oh that His word would be living and active in our pea-brains! (Okay! In MY pea-brain!)
    “For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”

  4. Stephen says:

    Thanks for the comment, Mrs. Laurie. I think Isaiah 55:8-9 sum up the point perfectly, so if you don’t mind I think I’ll actually put them in the body of the post.

Leave a Reply

