Too Blessed to be Stressed

Posted: October 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

Too Blessed to be Stressed mug
Too Blessed to be Stressed mug

“Stephen, don’t you have an 8:00 class today?” I bolt from my bed, but it’s futile at this point. It’s already 8:40 and the class only goes until 9:20. Forgot to turn on the alarm. There’s no way to get ready and get over to school in time. Panic sets in as I recall mention of a midterm coming up soon. Please tell me it was next week and not today. If it was today, how am I going to explain to my professor that I overslept one of the biggest tests of the year? Somehow, I suspect he wouldn’t find my absent-mindedness compelling enough to warrant a make-up. More worried thoughts pound in my head, one after another.

Thankfully I only missed a smaller quiz and a lecture, and my professor let me take the quiz later that day without any questions. But what I found in these moments was more concerning than even being absent for a midterm. In these moments I was calling God’s sovereignty into question. Hidden beneath my more superficial questions lay more pressing concerns. What if this affects my grade so severely that my entire average grade plummets? What will I do then? Misguided questions rooting from doubt in God’s sufficiency to provide my best. He could have chosen to make me remember to set my alarm, but bigger things were at stake here. My heart was at stake.

I saw this mug while I was working at Christopher Matthew’s today. Though an entirely simple message is painted on, it carries quite a profound message that caused me to seriously think: I’m Too Blessed To Be Stressed. Sure, balancing school and work gets a bit hectic at times. But in reality, could I envision better circumstances than the ones God has me in? Would a life with less responsibilities and in which everything ran smoothly really be a better life?

Numerous school papers and midterms are all planned by God. And even those trials are vastly outweighed by the God’s blessings in what we call the mundane. Driving home from school on a beautiful day. Climbing under the covers on a cold night and feeling the satisfaction of accomplishment in hard work. I want to make a point to praise Him in these moments.

I’m too blessed to be stressed…now if I can just remember that in those anxious moments of the routine day.

To listen to an amazing song of Sara Groves that speaks on this topic in a much more beautifully elegant and worshipful way, click the link below. Really listen to the lyrics as you do.

Sara Groves – He’s Always Been Faithful

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Help yourself remember-write it on your hand, on sticky notes in the car, in your room, on your door, college books, whatever will help! thanks for your humility btw!

  2. maggie says:

    So…that comment was me and i forgot to put a name…haha, sorry!

  3. Sarah says:

    So true! Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Michelle says:

    So… way to put in a plug for CM. šŸ˜‰

  5. Stephen says:

    Haha, I do what I can.

Leave a Reply

