The Purpose of Youthful Worship

Posted: October 18, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

The purpose of my new blog, “Youthful Worship,” is to try to catch little glimpses of the great things God is doing in and around me. It is a way to attribute the due praise to Him. I like to think of it as being a tool to aid me in keeping track of the numerous ways God has blessed me, encouraged me, convicted me…the list goes on. I want to be able to easily look back later and recount God’s wonderful acts. If this blog encourages you to shift your perspective on life to a more God-centered, worshipful one and a less selfish one, then it has served a well-appreciated dual purpose. My writing will not be anything scholarly, but rather youthfully simplistic in style.

I will probably not produce new posts very often, certainly not for lack of material but for lack of sufficient time to produce meaningful posts regularly.

Now, for a little background of my faith in the Lord. I’ve lived in Maryland all my life and grew up in a Christian home. I am increasingly grateful for my parents who have always guided me in a path toward serving the Lord, and without them I dread to consider where I would be spiritually. I prayed a prayer to “ask Jesus into my heart” (which to this day seems a vague concept) when I was about five or six. I’m not sure I actually understood salvation or my sinful state, though; I think I just didn’t want to go to hell. As I’ve grown older and a bit more mature (I hope), I’ve begun to see my true need for a Savior more every day. I’ve been attending Chesapeake Community Church now for almost ten years, and the teaching, fellowship, and serving there have contributed to my thirst for God. Everything so far in my life that has caused me to love God has been outside of my own power and by the undeserved grace of God, which is the reason I give all praise to Him.

Enough about me. This blog isn’t about me. It’s about God and his worthiness of praise. Together, let’s “Taste and see that the Lord is good” (Psalm 34:8).

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    Okay, so your youthfully simplistic style of writing makes my brain work overtime, why is that? šŸ˜‰

    In all seriousness, I’m glad you started a blog so that others can benefit from your wisdom the way I do.

  2. Stephen says:

    Haha, sorry, I’m trying to wean myself from all the academic writing for school, but it may take some time.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

